Uni-Select Raises Over $12,000 for Charity

Autosphere » Mechanical » Uni-Select Raises Over $12,000 for Charity

It was another beautiful sunny day for a record turnout of avid golfers for this annual event that raises important funds for the Canadian Spinal Research Organization (CSRO).

Barry Munro, Chief Development officer of CSRO and a spokesperson for the organization, has a spinal injury and he does believe he will walk again, with help from organizations like Uni-Select Ontario. “The research on this type of injury has come a long way, and there is some promising research on the horizon,” explained Munro.

Neuromodulation is a technique that has been used for people with chronic pain in their spine for years.  It’s used to stimulate the spine with electric current. People with chronic back pain are having great success with this.  “Doctors are now using this on spinal cord injuries, and people were getting movement. When asked how it works the doctors say they don’t know, it just does,” said Munro.

Neuromodulation uses two unique cord stimulation systems to cover multiple types of injury. “This is where the money you raise is going and it’s making a difference,” added Munro.

Retiring Uni-Select President and CEO, Gary O’Connor took the opportunity to say a few parting words during the dinner. “This company and this industry are dear to my heart. It’s been a good run, and I am going to miss it. I am looking forward to a new life now. That being said, it’s about the people. This industry is full of great people. We have great suppliers, great customers and we have great employees. Thank you all.”

Tournament Winners:

The best overall foursome with a score of -15 was Justin Lesansky, Jeff Lee, Mohamad and Scott Cleroux. The most honest golfer award went to Darryl Walazlak, Andy Fazakas, and Miguel Bispo.

Closest to the pin winners were Ron Zehnal for hole #3, John McArthur, for hole # 8, Ken McNulty, for hole # 11 and Rob Grinton for hole # 17.

The putting contest was a three-way tie between Allan Dero, Tyler Cowle, and Jaimie Pietrasko.  A draw was made, and Jamie was declared the winner.

[wds id=”567″]
Categories : Mechanical

Popular Posts



06dec5:30 pm10:00 pmChristmas Gathering, NAFA QC

31dec7:00 am5:00 pmASE Fall Testing Registration Open


09jan(jan 9)7:00 am12(jan 12)11:59 pm2024 CES